top of page

Teaching Philosophies

Behind every great teacher is a core belief that this line of work comes with great sacrifice and dedication in order to impact the lives of students. When teachers are not seeing the results in students they had hoped to see, it can often be disheartening and tiring. This is why teaching philosophies are so important. By having a strong, meaningful statement - one that is a reflection of the composer - teachers are able to go through situations and return to the classroom with the same drive and values they entered the field with. Teaching philosophies can be extremely complicated or ridiculously simple. The main point is that they reflect what drew the teacher into the field in the first place. My hope is that after writing and possibly revising my teaching philosophy, I will be able to look back 5, 10, or 20 years from now and feel the same excitement and love for this career as I am experiencing now.

Teaching philosophies can cover a wide variety of subjects, but there are a few main areas that are crucial to address: the concept of teaching (values and beliefs), teaching methods, goals for students, and what sets me apart from others in the field. Although there are many different areas that can be discussed in the actual statement, I think that by seeing passion, a caring attitude, and engagement in the classroom can reflect a teaching philosophy in its entirety. The truth of the matter is that parental, societal, and socioeconomic status can shape a person, but do not limit the possibilities of who they become.

Growing up, I have always been taught that “everyone deals with something.” This means that we all face struggles, some more challenging and serious than others, but it is important to remember that we are here for one another. By leading and teaching with compassion, I believe that my future students will one day grow up to be the human beings doing good, impactful deeds in this world. By focusing on this idea of developing my students as a whole and focusing on their autonomy, it is my dream that they feel known and heard.

The heart of progressivism lies within the idea of developing students to their full potential – physically, emotionally, intellectually, and socially. In today’s society, we talk about the “future leaders of America.” How great is it to know that current educators are supporting and encouraging individual growth among the students of today? I cannot help but think this will, in return, benefit our society as a whole in the years to come. By introducing students to experiences with decision making and problem solving, I will be preparing them for the evolving world we live in. I want my students to feel comfortable and empowered to ask me questions, as well as each other. By being present and active in their learning, I am confident my students will be fully engaged and yearn to participate in activities. No matter what teaching philosophy an educator might follow, I believe it is essential to care about our children both as individuals and as students.

Although I tend to align myself more with the emotional side of a progressivist approach, I admire the way that constructivists view the concept of learning. Growing up, the teachers I loved the most were the teachers that made me aware of capabilities of my own brain and the way I learn. They constantly reminded me that everyone learns differently, but we all have the ability to learn. This philosophy can seem even more progressive than progressivism itself, but in fact, it is not “reinventing the wheel.” Students find themselves using preexisting knowledge, hypothesizing, testing theories, and drawing conclusions. Rather than “reinventing the wheel,” students are driven by their own curiosity about how

Teaching philosophies can address the morals and values a teacher holds and wishes to share with their students, but it also focuses on how the teacher delivers material. It is no secret that the information a student retains from school is most effected by the way the content is presented. Being an Early Childhood Educator, I will implement creative, collaborative lessons. My classroom will be hands on with discussion and have room for mindful exploration. I will need to be prepared, aware of the difficulty level of the lessons, organized, and thorough. More importantly, I will need to be ready to adapt to change or obstacles when they occur.

As a teacher, I believe it is essential to lead with kindness and grace. I know that my students will not come from the same background or socioeconomic status. It will be my goal and hope that they know they should be proud of who they are and will become. In a world with so much brokenness and uncertainty, I want my students to leave my classroom confident, accepted, and loved. By focusing on their strengths, celebrating differences, and learning how to strengthen their weaknesses, I believe my students will be exactly the kind of people this world needs.


bottom of page