top of page

Why My Mom Isn't My Best Friend

This is breaking news. I am the baby of my family and the only girl. So why aren't my mom & I best friends? About two years ago, I was in a weird spot in my life. I wasn't the girl I expected myself to be and definitely not the girl my mom thought I was. I was making poor decisions and my mindset was very skewed. Again, a very weird spot in my life. I came home from school one afternoon and had a very hard and trying heart-to-heart with my mama. During the middle of this conversation, she looked at me with her blue eyes and simply said,

"I'm not here to be your best friend, I'm here to be your mom."

Well, that sure took me by surprise. I have always said that my grandma and mama are my best friends. But this time, it especially applies to my mom. Everything says we're best friends. . . we watch movies, cuddle, go shopping, take vacations together, get mani-pedis. The list could go on forever. Being the only girl & the baby, I'm close with my mom. I like to think that we have a different kind of bond than most mother-daughter relationships. Then again, everyone says that. . . Now two years later, I realize exactly what she meant on that afternoon while we were sitting in the great room, both with tears in our eyes. Think of your best friends (this mostly applies to my peers). Your best friends are probably the first ones to tell you to do something without thinking about the consequences. And that's okay - best friends are supposed to have fun and make memories! They're the ones you go to when you've messed up. They might have some advice, but honestly, it's probably something you've already told yourself. Just common knowledge. My mom is extremely wise. She has learned so much from her mistakes, and is now able to be brutally honest with me, her only daughter. My mom has been in my situation before (maybe not exactly, but pretty gosh darn relatable). She knows what works and what doesn't work. She knows me better than I know myself. She's able to take that into consideration and give me advice she knows will be most effective. The biggest difference, however, is that she can sense when I'm about to get hurt. My best friends don't know that. And that's perfectly fine - it's not their job. She wants me to be strong, moral, independent, kind, and compassionate. No other human being has taught me more about these lessons than my mama. But that's where God knew that she was meant to be my mom. Because she does everything in her power to protect me from experiencing heartbreak, loss, a letdown. . . My mom may not be my best friend, but she is my love, my favorite cuddler & movie-watcher, my closest ally. And I will always love her. . . more.

bottom of page